Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, The Supreme Collection Volume 1,

1. Présentation de l'album
2. Chansons du CD

1. Présentation de l'album :

Cette compilation est parut le 26 août 1997.
Le Cd est dédié à la mémoire de Jeff. Voici les liner notes du livret :

"The first time I heard the voice of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan was in Harlem , 1990 . My roommate and I stood there , blasting it in his room . We were all awash in the thick undulating tide of dark punjabi tabla rhythms , spiked with synchroniezd handclaps booming from above and below in hard , perfect time . I heard the clarion call of harmoniums dancing the antique melody around like giant , singing wooden spiders . Then , all of a sudden , the rising of one , then ten voices hovering over the tonic like a flock of geese ascending into formation across the sky . The n came the voice of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan . Part Buddha , part demon , part mad angel ... his voice is velvet fire , simply incomparable . Nusrat's blending of classical improvisations to the art of Qawwali , combined with his out and out daredevil style and his sensitivity , outs him in a category all his own , above all others in his field . His every enunciation went sraight into me . I knew not one word of Urdu , and somehow it still hooked me into the story that he weaved with his wordless voice . I remember my senses fully froze in order to feel melody after melody crash upon each other in waves of improvisation ; with each line being repeated by the men in chorus , restated again by the main soloists , and then Nusrat setting the whole bloody thing aflame with his rapid-fire scatting , turning classical Indian Solfeggio ( Sa , Re , Gha , Ma , Pa , Dha , Ni ) into a chaotic/manic birdsong . The phrase burst into a climax somewhere , with Nusrat's upper register painting a melody that made my heart long to fly . The piece went on for fifteen minutes . I ate my heart out . My roommate just looked at me knowingly , muttering , "Nus-rat ...Fa-teh...A-li...Khaaan" , like he had just scored the wine of the century . I felt a rush of adrenaline in my chest , like I was on the edge of a cliff , wondering when I would jump and how well the ocean would catch me : two questions that would never be answered until I experienced the first leap . That is the sensation and the character of Qawwali music , the music of the Sufis , as best I can describe it . In between the world of the flesh and the world of the spirit is the void . The Qawwali is the messenger who leaps empty-handed into the abyss and returns carrying messages of love form the Beloved ( Allah ) . These messages have no words , per se , but at the high point of a Qawwali performance , they come in bursts of light into the hearts and minds of members of the audience . Of course , by that time the whole house in either hanging from the rafters , or dancing . This is called Marifat , the inner knowledge , and it is in the aim of the Qawwali tradition to bring the listener into this state ; first through the beauty of the poetry and the weight of its meaning ; then , eventually , through the Qawwali's use of repetition ; repeating key phrases of the poem until the meaning has melted away to reveal the true form to the listener . I've seen Nusrat and his party repeatedly melt New Yorkers into human beings . At times I've seen him in such deep states of trance while singing that I am sure that the world does not exist for him any longer . The effect it has is gorgeous . These men do not play music , they are music itself ."

Jeff Buckley,
New York,

2. Chansons du CD :

CD1 :
01. 18:29 Tum Agar Yuhi Nazren
02. 17:42 Mazaa Aa Gaya
03. 19:06 Mast Aankon Ki Kasam
04. 18:04 Likh Diya Dar Pe Kisi Ne
Durée Totale : 73:21

CD2 :
01. 26:17 Aag Daman Mein Lag Jai
02. 12:54 Mulaqat Ho Gaye
03. 19:42 Aaj Koi Baat Ho Gaye
04. 16:38 False Gul Hai
Durée Totale : 75:31